President's Message
Administration
Recruiting
Rules & Interpretation
Spotlight on Lacrosse
Forms
News/Photo's
N.C.L.O.A. Store
Links
E-Mail
Constitution & By-Laws

Home

ncloa_logo_sm.jpg (18745 bytes)
Nassau County Lacrosse Officials Association, Inc.
Rules & Interpretation

From: Brendan Wallace 05/10/2018

Rule 4-14-3 OVER AND BACK
"If the ball does not touch or go over the center line, no infraction has occurred. Defensive players may legally bat the ball to keep it in the offensive half of the field; but if it is possessed and their feet are in the defensive half, it shall be a turnover."

The following "Situation" has been reviewed by the NFHS Rules Committee and this is how we should be adjudicating this play going forward.

SITUATION: Team A has satisfied it`s 10-second count. Now a loose ball that was last possessed or touch by Team A is rolling towards the midfield line. Team A player on it`s defensive side of the field, uses his foot to keep the ball from crossing over the midfield line. The ball does not cross the midfield line.
Is this an Over & Back violation? RULING: Yes.

CLARIFICATION: A defensive player may reach over the center line with his crosse and bat the ball to keep it in his team's offensive half and thus prevent an over-and-back violation. However, he may NOT reach over the center line and bat the ball with his FOOT or any other part of his body. If he does so, it shall be a turnover.

Rule 4.9.2 GOAL NOT COUNTED
(o) Exception: A goal will be allowed if the shot is released (ball is out of the crosse) prior to the end of the period.
NOTE: This does NOT pertain to Modified / Junior High rules.

Rule 6-10-2 STALLING
The Stall warning remains in effect until:
a goal is scored,
a shot hits the the goal pipes,
a shot his the goalie or his equipment,
the defensive team gains possession of the ball
or the period ends resulting in a faceoff.
NOTE: The shot must be taken from above GLE to be considered a shot.

Below is a clarification from Walt Munze, N.Y. State Boys Lacrosse Rules Interpreter, from a memo dated May 3rd, 2016.

With the exception of the goaltender`s stick, there is NO RULE RESTRICTION on the length of the stick in modified lacrosse if the stick falls between 40-72 inches.

A player may have a stick of any length between 40-72 inches (example; a 48, 52, 60 inch stick, etc. is legal). Therefore, there is no limit to the number of long poles in the game.

The NEW 2016 NFHS Rules on Cross Prohibitions (1-7-3 and 1-8), Facing Off(4-3-3)and Over and Back (4-14-3) are in effect for Modified Games.

From: Brendan Wallace 04/20/2018

As the season winds down and the games become more and more important, we need to be prepared both physically and mentally every game.
I wanted to make certain that everyone is clear on the NEW rules, specifically as they pertain to Stalling because there was a change to this rule from previous years.

Rule 6 Technical Fouls
SECTION 10 STALLING (Page 75)
ART. 2. . . The stall warning remains in effect until a goal is scored, a shot that hits the goal pipes, a shot that hits the goalie or hits his equipment, the defensive team gains possession of the ball or the period ends resulting in a faceoff.
6.10.2 SITUATION F: Team A has been warned to "keep it in". After recovering a shot (a)that it the goal, goalkeeper or his equipment, or (b)a pass deflected by the defense outside the goal area, does Team A have a full 10-seconds before it shall bring the ball back into the goal area?
RULING: (a)Stall warning has ended; (b)yes, stall warning continued with a full 10-seconds.

From: Brendan Wallace 04/12/2018

I didn`t want to send this memo out, but I have been approached by coaches regarding this topic and want you to know what to do if this comes up in your games.

I am aware of the mindset of not checking the crosses of faceoff players, but it has come to my attention that they may be altering their crosses to gain an unfair advantage. Specifically, bending the head of the crosse, like a spoon. I am not certain why and to what advantage they gain by doing this, but if a coach asks you to check a faceoff players crosse, please be aware of the following rules and procedures for checking crosses.

RULE 1 / SECTION 6 CROSSE DIMENSIONS (Page 15)
ART.2...The length of the head shall be a minimum of 10 inches from the outside edge/top of the head to the beginning of the throat of the crosse.
RULE 1 / SECTION 7 CROSSE CONSTRUCTION (Page 16)
ART.4...The crosse shall be relatively straight from the butt end to the end of the head. A "relatively straight" crosse shall be defined as one that may be laid flat on a tabletop/scorer`s table on the side opposite the netting so that a substantial portion of the crosse rests on the table and such that there is a distance from the tabletop to the bottom edge of the head that at no point exceeds 2.75 inches (Please reference Figure 4 on page 16)
RULING: If crosse is found to be illegal, the penalty is 3-minutes, non-releasable and the crosse is to remain at the scorer`s table for the duration of the game.

Please do not use the "tabletop" method when conducting your mandatory equipment/stick checks during games, but only when asked by a coach to check an opponent`s crosse specifically for this issue.

From: Brendan Wallace 04/11/2018

Slow Whistle / "Flag-down"
On a Flag Down / Slow Whistle situation, the team that was fouled can possess the ball out of the box. The Slow Whistle / "Flag-down" ends when the ball hits the ground.
Exception: A bounce shot.

RULE 7 / SECTION 8 Slow Whistle Technique (Page 86 & 87)
During a slow whistle, a SHOT remains a shot until:
a) the ball comes to rest on the field.
b) the ball hits the ground and goes past the goal.
c) possession is gained by any member of the defensive team.
d) after hitting the goalkeeper, goalkeeper equipment, goal posts or crossbar, the ball is touched by ANY player of EITHER team other than the goalkeeper, or an official.

RULE 4 / SECTION 9 (Page 42)
ART. 2
o) A goal WILL be allowed if the shot is released (out of the crosse) prior to the end of the period.
NOTES
1. Officials must restrain from blowing their whistles at the end of the quarter.
2. Find out in your pre-game if there is an automatic horn, @ 0:00, on the scoreboard clock.
3. If there isn`t, discuss with table personnel and your partner how this will be handled.

Simultaneous Penaties
Example 1:
Simultaneous "Live Ball" fouls
Team A has the ball:
B1 is Offsides - 30 seconds
B2 Slashes - 1 minute
A1 Slashes B2 ending play - 1 minute

Penalty Time:
B2 & A1 both serve 1 minute non-releasable for the Slashes - Why? longest common penalty time
B1 serves 30 seconds non-releasable for the Offsides - Why? Shorter duration

RULE 7 / SECTION 2 (Page 79)
d) For the purpose of determining when a player or players may be released from a penalty, for all time-serving penalties called on players of opposing teams from the time the flag is dropped or the whistle sounds stopping play (whichever occurs first), until the sounding of the whistle "resuming play,the longest common penalty time between players of opposing teams is non-releasable, as is all penalty time of a shorter or equal duration."

From: Brendan Wallace 03/29/2018

RULE 6 / SECTION 10 STALLING (Pages 76 & 77)
SITUATIONS AND RULINGS
6.10.2 SITUATION G states:
Team A has been warned to "Keep it in". Team B commits a penalty. Is the Stall Warning still in effect when play resumes?
RULING: Yes, the Stall Warning is still in effect since Team A maintains possession as a result of the Team B penalty. After the flag-down/slow-whistle, the Stall Warning is still in effect after the penalty is assessed unless Team A scores. Upon the restart of play, Team A has 10 seconds to move the ball into the goal area where it will again be warned to "Keep it in".

Stall Warnings
Situation: Team A is winning by 3 goals with 4:30 left in the game. Team B is penalized for a 2-minute non-releasable foul. Team A is a man-up for 2 minutes. During their man-up, Team A decides to hold the ball and does not attack the goal in an attempt to use as much of the game clock as possible to preserve their 3 goal lead. Can Team A be warned to "Get it in, Keep it in"?
RULING: Yes. If it is obvious that Team A is not attempting to attack the goal or execute a scoring play.

NOTE: Whether a Team is man-up / man-down or winning / loosing has no bearing "by rule" as it pertains to Stalling. Please reference, RULE 6, SECTION 10 / SITUATIONS AND RULINGS (Page 76): 6.10.1 SITUATION A & SITUATION B

NOTE: The proper mechanic is: If the ball is outside the goal area, the Officials would give the verbal & visual "Get it in" and the Trail Official (2-man mechanics) or the Single-side Official (3-man mechanics) would start a visual 10-second count. Once in the goal area, ALL the Officials would give a verbal and visual "Keep it in". If the ball is already in the goal area, the Officials would give the verbal & visual "Keep it in" signal.

Stick Checks - NCLOA Memo (3/22/18)
During the past few scrimmages several of our guys noticed sticks to be less than 3" toward the bottom (some not even close).
Pg 13-15 Section 6 Crosse Dimensions
Pg 15-17 Section 7 Crosse Construction
This is a reminder that the 2018 CROSSE DIMENSIONS / CONSTRUCTION are listed clearly in the rule book. The pictures on page 14 &15 are very helpful. The officials will be using their SCORE CARD or TAPE measure to check various parts of the players stick. The Scorecard is 3" wide which is what the minimum width the bottom part of the stick should be (3" above throat). (see diagram pg 14)
If the official is unable to slide his CARD into that opening at the bottom, it is less than 3 inches wide and ILLEGAL!
The player will be assessed a 3 MIN NON-RELEASABLE penalty (which counts toward his 5-minute Personal Foul Maximum) and the stick stays at the table for the remainder of the game. The LAST thing ANYONE wants!
If you would like to purchase this CARD you can from: wearstripes.com & uslacrosse.com

From: Brendan Wallace 03/18/2018

During the past few scrimmages several of our guys noticed sticks to be less than 3" toward the bottom (some not even close).

Pg 13-15 Section 6 Crosse Dimensions
Pg 15-17 Section 7 Crosse Construction

This is a reminder that the 2018 CROSSE DIMENSIONS / CONSTRUCTION are listed clearly in the rule book. The pictures on page 14 &15 are very helpful. The officials will be using their SCORE CARD or TAPE measure to check various parts of the players stick. The Scorecard is 3" wide which is what the minimum width the bottom part of the stick should be (3" above throat). (see diagram pg 14)

If the official is unable to slide his CARD into that opening at the bottom, it is less than 3 inches wide and ILLEGAL!
The player will be assessed a 3 MIN NON-RELEASABLE penalty which counts toward his 5 min Personal Maximum, and the stick stays at the table for the remainder of the game. The LAST thing ANYONE wants!

N.F.H.S. Warding Memo (February 28, 2018)

1. A ward is not to be called on a player with 2 hands on his crosse.

2. A bull dodge, lowering the shoulder, could be considered unnecessary roughness if the official judges the contact was excessive or unnecessary.

3. A spear should be penalized with a minimum time of 2-minutes NR.
1. Lowering the helmet into the other player`s helmet or body is a spear
2. Potential for ejection as with any check involving the head/neck if excessive or severe.

4. If the body contact is judged as legal, the offensive player shall not be called for a ward.
1. The contact is either legal, or it is unnecessary roughness.

From: Brendan Wallace 03/8/2018

The following statement was issued by Robert J. Zayas, NYSPHSAA Executive Director and forwarded to me by, Jim Amen, Jr., NY State Coordinator of Boys Lacrosse:

If an official takes an athlete to the sideline and tells the coach "this athlete needs to be evaluated / checked out" the coach can identify if the athlete is exhibiting signs and symptoms consistent with a concussion. If the student is exhibiting signs and symptoms, the student must remain out of play until they see a healthcare provider and are cleared to return by the school medical director.

If the official takes an athlete to the sideline and tells the coach "this athlete is exhibiting signs and symptoms consistent with a concussion" in accordance with the New York State Concussion Law, the athlete must be removed from play until they see a healthcare provider and are cleared to return by the school medical director.

Gentlemen,
My recommendation is that we avoid using the word "concussion" for the simple reason that we are not Health Care Professionals or trained on how to recognize concussion symptoms, as are the coaches, although it maybe obvious at times, but we can discuss more at our next meeting.

From: Brendan Wallace 03/8/2018

There have been some good questions that have come up as they pertain to the new rules. Here are two situations that I was able to get clarifications on from Walt Munze, the NFHS Rules Interpreter.

SITUATION #1
B1 slashes A1 w/ 15 seconds to go in the quarter, "Flag down" / Slow-whistle. Before the horn sounds to end the quarter A1 shoots. As the ball is in flight, the quarter ends and the ball goes into the goal.
RULING: Goal counts. B1 serves one minute for his personal foul.
Question(s):
How does the next quarter start?
Faceoff or No Faceoff, Team A`s ball at the midfield?
Is B1`s penalty treated as a live-ball foul, therefore there is a faceoff?

SITUATION #2
A1 shoots the ball before the horn sounds to end the quarter. After the horn sounds and the ball is in flight, B1 slashes A1. The ball goes into the goal.
RULING: Goal counts. B1 serves one minute for his personal foul.
Question(s):
How does the next quarter start?
Faceoff or No Faceoff with Team A`s ball at the midfield?
Is B1`s penalty treated as a dead-ball foul, therefore there is no faceoff?

INTERPRETATION / EXPLANATION
In both Situations the goal counts and B1 will serving a time-serving penalty and the next quarter will start with a Faceoff. Both of these fouls should be treated as "Live-ball" fouls.
Think of it this way...technically the whistle stops play not the horn...so any foul inside the whistle...even though the horn sounded is a live ball foul...Faceoff.
Any foul after the whistle is a dead ball foul...No Faceoff

From: Brendan Wallace 03/31/17

For Immediate Release: These attached Q & A's are written to answer a number of play situation questions that have been submitted for clarification. Note that the mouthpiece question on a defender has a different ruling that was distributed earlier. The ruling has been approved by the NFHS and should be followed. Hopefully the Q & A's will provide answers to play situations and not generate more questions as responses require extended time to work through the answer approval process.
Walt Munze , USL Rules Interpreter

NFHS Boys Lacrosse Q & A 3/31/2017

1. Q: B1is closely guarding ball carrier A1 when the official becomes aware that B1 is not wearing his mouthpiece. Is this a flag down or immediate whistle?
A: Unless A1 is in the act of shooting, this is an immediate whistle. B1 serves 30 seconds. Award the ball to Team A. (Rule 4-24-1)

2. The ball is loose and a player’s mouthpiece is dangling from his facemask. Is this a play-on or an immediate whistle?
A: This is an immediate whistle. Award the ball to the other team. (Rule 4-24-1)

3. Between quarters, an equipment check shows that A1 does not have a mouthpiece and B1 has a deep pocket. Are these simultaneous fouls? Do both players serve penalty time? How do we start the next quarter?
A: Simultaneous fouls. A1 serves 30 seconds. B1 serves one minute. (Both fouls are non-releasable.) The next period begins with a face-off. (Rules 4-3-1, 6-5-2-x)

4. Q: A1 has possession behind the goal, and B1 (non-goalie defender) is guarding him from the crease in front of the goal. Is this a violation on B1?
A: No. B1 is permitted in the crease to cover his opponent. A violation has only occurred when a non-goalie defender enters the crease with the intent to act as goalkeeper. (Rule 4-18-4)

5. Q: B1 (non-goalie defender) slides through the crease while covering A1. A2 shoots the ball from in front of the goal and the shot strikes B1 while he is in the crease. Is this a violation on B1?
A: No. B1 is permitted in the crease to cover his opponent. The fact that he was struck with a shot does not, in and of itself, indicate that he entered the crease with the intent to act as goalkeeper. (Rule 4-18-4)
NFHS Boys Lacrosse Q & A 3/31/2017

6. Q: The ball is loose in front of the crease and B1 goalkeeper has left his crease in an attempt to play the loose ball. A scrum develops around the ball and B2 (non-goalie defender) steps in the crease placing himself between the scrum and the open goal. Is this a violation on B2? If so, is this a play-on or an immediate whistle?
A: Yes. B2 is shielding the goal and acting as goalkeeper. This should be an immediate whistle. Award the ball to Team A if this is B2’s first violation; for a second or subsequent violation, B2 serves one releasable minute. (Rule 4-18-4)

7. Q: On a face-off, a loose ball goes into and out of Team A’s offensive box without either team having gained possession. The ball is now pushed back over the midfield line, still without either team having gained possession. Is this an over-and-back violation?
A: No. No team has gained possession of the ball, so there is no over-and-back violation at this point. (Rule 4-14-1 & 3)

8. Q: On a face-off, a loose ball goes into Team A’s offensive box without either team having gained possession. A1 now gains possession of the ball in the box and carries it out of the box. Is a 10-second count started? If A1 were to pass or run the ball back over the midline, would this be an over-and-back violation?
A: A count does not begin since A1 established possession inside his attack box. If A1 were to subsequently pass or run the ball back over the midline, this would be an over-and-back violation. (Rule 4-14-1 & 3)

9. Q: On a face-off, a loose ball goes into and out of Team A’s offensive box without either team having gained possession. A1 now gains possession of the ball outside of the box. Is a 10-second count begun? If A1 were to pass or run the ball back over the midline, would this be an over-and-back violation?
A: A 10-second count begins when A1 gains possession of the ball outside of the box. If A1 were to subsequently pass or run the ball back over the midline, this would not be an over-and-back violation. The 10-second count would continue. (Rule 4-14-1 & 3)
NFHS Boys Lacrosse Q & A 3/31/2017

10. Q: Team A has established possession in its attack area. A1 pass from behind the goal is deflected by B1 and crosses back over the midline. The ball is now pushed back into Team A’s offensive half were A2 gains possession of the ball. Is a 10-second count started? If Team A were to pass or run the ball back over the midline, would this be an over-and-back violation?
A: A count does not begin since there was no change of possession. If Team A were to subsequently pass or run the ball back over the midline, this would be an over-and-back violation. NOTE: Per 4-14-1 SITUATION C, if Team A had gained possession in its defensive half, a 20-second count would begin. (Rule 4-14-1 SITUATIONS C & D)

11. Q. A1 face-off player has added a covering to the top 6” of the shaft that meets contrasting color requirements but is made of a rubber-like or other material that improves the grip. Is this allowed?
A: Yes. As long as the covering does not increase the circumference of the handle beyond 3.5” (per Rule 1-6-1), such a covering is expressly allowed by Rule 1-8, which states:
“Handles that have been altered in any fashion other than taping or adding another covering designed to improve the grip are illegal.”
Taping or adding another covering designed to improve the grip is therefore legal.

Here are some situations that recently took place in scrimmages / games. March 27, 2017

Rule 4 - Play of the Game
SECTION 8 - GOAL SCORED (Page 39)
A GOAL IS SCORED when a LOOSE BALL passes from the front, completely through the imaginary plane formed by the rear edges of the goal line, the goal posts and the crossbar of the goal, regardless of who supplied the impetus.

RULE 4.8 - PLAY RULINGS (PAGE 39)
SITUATION D: The Goalie or any player in possession of the ball (a) brings his crosse back through the plane of the goal, or (b) brings his crosse back through the plane of his goal and the ball drops to the ground across the goal line. RULING: (a) Legal play, no goal scored (b) A goal is awarded to the opposing team
COMMENT: When the player drops the ball in the goal, it is a loose ball beyond the plane of the goal.

Rule 4 - Play of the Game
SECTION 11 - OFFSIDE ENFORCEMENT (Page 41)
ART. 2...If BOTH teams are offside, and one team has possession of the ball, the players shall be placed onside and play resumed with the team in possession retaining possession
ART. 3...If BOTH teams are offside, and NEITHER team has possession of the ball, the players shall be placed onside and the ball is awarded according to alternate possession rule.
NOTE: The RESTART is where the ball was when the whistle blew, NOT a free clear.

RULE 4 - Play of the Game
SECTION 12 OFFSIDE, GOAL SCORED (Page 42)
When the attacking team is offside and a goal is scored, the goal shall not count and the ball shall be awarded to the offended team. If the defensive team is offside, the goal counts and no penalty shall be assessed. If BOTH teams are offside, the goal shall not count, and the ball is awarded according to the alternate possession rule.
NOTE: If the goal is not allowed and the ball awarded to the defensive team, this RESTART could be in the crease, but it wouldn`t be a bad idea to take your time placing everyone onside and start in defensive box.

RULE 4 - Play of the Game
SECTION 14 ADVANCING THE BALL INTO THE GOAL AREA (Page 43)
ART. 2...The requirement for advancing the ball into the goal area is met when the ball touches anything within that area or a player in possession of the ball touches the line or is inside the goal area. Comment: The officials should SIGNAL that the ball is in.
NOTE: The LEAD should only start the 10-second count when the offensive player gains possession on the offensive side of field, NOT when he touches it.

Rule 6 - Technical Fouls
SECTION 10-PLAY RULINGS (Page 74)
6.10.3 SITUATION A: Team A, which is ahead throws the ball into its goal area during the last two minutes of regulation. Before either team gains possession in the goal area, the offensive team kicks the ball out of the goal area OR the ball rolls out with no one touching it while it was in the goal area. Is this stalling? RULING: YES. Comment: The ball touched inside the goal area, thus making the offensive team subject to the stalling rules. The officials should SIGNAL that the ball is in.

FACE OFFS
A reminder that there is NOTHING in the book stating the face off the player MUST make an attempt to play the ball first during a face off. (College Rule only) However, BOTH players must go down together at the spot where the official pointed. What happens after the whistle is subject to our judgement.

TEAMWORK with your partner(s), "Two are better than one if two act as one" - Coach K Duke Basketball
Same goes for three officials.

If you have questions regarding what I just went over, or anything else, call or e-mail.
Officially yours,
Brendan

Please review the following "Over & Back" Situation & Rule Clarification. March 27, 2017

SITUATION
Team A has satisfied their 10-second count requirement. An errant pass that was tipped or last touched by Team B goes over the midline into Team A`s defensive side of the field. The loose ball is now redirected back into the Team A`s offensive side of the field and A1 secures possession. A1 now steps on the midline, is checked or runs back into his defensive half of the field.
Is this "Over & Back"? Or does A1 now get a new 10-second count?
RULING: Team A would not get a new 10-second count. Yes, this is "Over & Back".
Comment: What is important to know in this situation is that there wasn`t a change of possession, therefore Team A would not get a new 10-second count and since they were the last to possess or touch the ball before it went back in to the defensive side of the field, it is an "Over & Back" violation.

If you have any questions on this situation or anything else, call or e-mail.
Officially yours,
Brendan

Mouthpiece Penalty 
Rule 6 – Technical Fouls (Page 68)
SECTION 5 ILLEGAL PROCEDURE
ART. 2
x. Failure to wear required mouthpiece (unless it comes out during play).
Situation #1 – A1 with possession of the ball is driving towards Team B's goal while closely guarded by B1.  1) A1 is not wearing his mouthpiece, or 2) B1 is not wearing his mouthpiece.  RULING:  1) Stop play immediately.  Award ball to Team B.  2) Flag down.  Allow the scoring play to continue.  When the scoring attempt is completed, stop play and assess the Technical Foul.
Situation #2 – During a loose ball A1 or B1 is not wearing their mouthpiece.  RULING:  Stop play immediately and award ball accordingly.  If both players are not wearing their mouthpieces
Situation #3 – During a loose ball both A1 & B1 are not wearing their mouthpieces.  RULING:  Stop play immediately and award ball according to Alternate Possession.

Restarts after a Mouthpiece Penalty
How are we handling Restarts now that this is a Technical Foul?
Situation #1 – During a loose ball, Team A Player does not have a mouthpiece at all.  Official stops the play and awards ball to Team B.  The Team A Player must be removed from the game.  Do we allow time for Team A to substitute?  How much time?  Should we use our 20 second beeper in this situation and treat similar to a substitution?  
Situation #2 – During a faceoff, Team A Player does not have a mouthpiece at all.  Official awards ball to Team B. The Team A Player must be removed from the game.  Do we allow time for Team A to substitute?  How much time?  Should we use our 20 second beeper in this situation and treat similar to a substitution? 
MECHANIC: We are to treat this technical foul the same as we would treat other technical fouls.  Obviously, allow the player without a mouthpiece enough time to clear the general scrimmage area before restarting play. 

NFHS Boys Lacrosse Rules Changes - 2017
      By NFHS on August 18, 2016  
1-3-2a: If a flat-iron goal is used on a grass field, it may be attached to the ground with ground anchors.
Rationale: Ground anchors are not typically used on grass fields.  This change will allow the rules to be aligned with standard practice.  The rule change would allow but not require ground anchors.
4-3-1 Exception 2: If a player or team commits a foul before any faceoff, the ball will be awarded to the offended team in its offensive side of the field at the Center.
Rationale: Currently there is a distance of 5 yards from all surrounding players and re-start from spot of the foul. This ruling of “a free clear” is no longer correct and should have been deleted in the current rules book in order to be consistent with Rule 4.4.2 SITUATION B, which calls for a re-start from “the spot where the ball was when play was suspended.”
4-3-3: Paint, a single wrap of tape, or other material of contrasting color to the head may now be used on the handle of the crosse for any player taking a faceoff.
Rationale: New handle materials are already in production and create a more durable solution than tape. The current rule only allows for tape; this rule change would allow for the emerging best practices.
4-18-4: No defensive player, other than a properly equipped goalkeeper, can enter his own crease with the perceived intent on blocking a shot or acting as a goalie. Penalty: Conduct foul on the defensive player. A second violation by the player will be enforced as releasable unsportsmanlike conduct.
Note: Officials will stop play as soon as they notice the situation. However, if a shot is already in flight when this is noticed, the shot will be allowed to come to its normal conclusion before the whistle blows to stop play.
Rationale: Risk minimization only the goalkeeper may be located within the crease.
6-5-2: Failure to wear the required mouthpiece (unless it comes out during play) is now a technical foul.
Rationale: Change brings foul into conformity with current trends in the sport and makes it more likely to be enforced and, therefore, should bring greater compliance for risk minimization.
6-10-3: During the last two minutes of regulation play, stalling rules are in effect for the team that is ahead by four goals or less.  When the score differential is five goals or more, neither team is forced to keep the ball in the goal area unless warned to “keep it in.”
Rationale: The current “automatic stall warning” in the last two minutes creates a dangerous situation where a team that is essentially “out of the game” is given more opportunity to “punish” the team that is ahead since that team is forced to “keep it in.”

Points of Emphasis

  1. Coaches and Team Area
  2. Defenseless Hits
  3. Blindside Hits
  4. Mouthpieces
  5. Reminder of Crosse Change in 2018

From: Brendan Wallace 05/16/16

SITUATION: Team A has possession. Team B commits a foul and a "Flag Down" / slow whistle is in place. If Team A is under a (a) 10 second count, or (b) 20 second count, does this reset the count.

RULING: (a) Yes. Team A gets a new 10 second count to advance the ball into the goal area. (b) Yes. Team A gets a new 20 second count (turn your beeper off, then back on to reset) to advance the ball across the midfield line.
In both situations, it is the same result if there had been a loose ball violation on Team B and a "Play On" was called.
See RULE 4-13, SITUATION B & RULE 4-14.1, SITUATION E.
NOTE: If applicable, such a "Flag Down" or "Play On" would also reset a 4 second count.

The proper mechanic for this reset is for the on-official / official who makes the call, to extend their arm upwards, twirl your fingers and say "Reset"

From: Brendan Wallace 03/8/16

There were several questions that were asked at our Rules Interpretation meeting last week that needed clarification. The following are clarifications from Walt Munze (NFHS Rules Interpreter) and/or the NFHS Rules Book.

1) Tape Ring
What is the penalty if a player has a tape ring that is more than 3.5 inches in circumference and is up near the head of the crosse?
RULE 1, SECTION 6 - PLAY RULING (Page 13 & 14)
1.6.1 SITUATION: During an equipment inspection, A1`s handle has a tape ring measuring more than 3.5 inches in circumference that is (a)within 3 inches or (b)more than 3 inches from the butt end of the handle. RULING: (a)Legal (b)The stick is not considered illegal. The tape ring, which is more than 3 inches from the butt end of the handle, must be removed before the stick is returned to play. There is no penalty assessed.
What if this same stick was being used by Team A`s faceoff player? RULING: The Team A player may not use this stick to play or faceoff with, therefore the player must get another stick or be replaced by another player. This would result in a technical foul on Team A for "Delay of Game", no faceoff and Team B would be awarded the ball at the midfield.

2) Can a player pick up the ball and/or play with the ball in the back of the crosse?
RULE 4, SECTION 7 - BALL CAUGHT IN CROSSE OR EQUIPMENT
ART.1...If at any point the ball becomes stuck in the front or back of the crosse, there shall be an immediate whistle and the ball awarded to the opposing team. This rule also applies when a player loses his crosse and the ball remains in or under the head of the crosse.
The important word in this rule is "STUCK". A player is allowed to pass, shoot & cradle the ball with the back or front of the crosse. He is also allow to pick up a loose ball with the front or the back of the crosse. If it is evident at anytime that the ball is "stuck" in the back or the front of the crosse, then there is a violation. If during the process of picking up a loose ball, the ball defies gravity, then there is a violation. But remember, we must observe theses occurrences first, before assessing a penalty. Innocent, until proven Guilty.

3) Over & Back Rule
RULE 4, SECTION 14 - ADVANCING THE BALL INTO GOAL AREA
ART.3...Once the ball has been successfully advanced into the goal area, a team is provided the opportunity to run its offense in its offensive half of the field. If the offensive team carries, passes or propels the ball to its defensive half of the field and the offensive team was last in possession, and last touched the ball (except on a shot), the result will be an immediate turnover or a play-on.
If the ball does not touch or go over the center line, no infraction has occurred. Defensive players may legally bat the ball to keep it in the offensive half of the field; but if it is possessed and their feet are in the defensive half, it shall be a turnover.
Q. Is the center line treated as a "plane" so that if the ball crosses the center line it is an immediate violation?
A. No. The ball must touch the center line, the ground on the defensive half of the field or anything in the defensive half.

Q. May a player in the defensive half of the field bat the ball with his crosse or kick the ball so that the ball does not cross the center line?
A. Yes.

Q. May a player in the offensive half of the field reach across the center line and either catch the ball or bat the ball back over the center line, so that it never touches the center line, the ground on the defensive half of the field or anything in contact with the defensive half?
A. Yes.

One last clarification.
A coach asked me if it was legal for his faceoff player to remove his handle and apply the tape first, then insert the handle so that there is now tape underneath the throat of the crosse? RULING: Legal.
Although the rule book states, "The tape is to begin, but not be touching the plastic at the throat of the crosse"....., the Rules Committee felt that this was not an advantage and did not impose on the intent of of the rule.

I hope that you have found these clarification informative and useful. As always, if you have additional questions on these clarifications or any other rules and or mechanics, please call or e-mail.
Officially yours in lacrosse,
Brendan Wallace - N.C.L.O.A. Rules Interpreter